Hello world!

So recently I kind of got fired.

Not sure if I was fired or there was not enough work to go around. In any case, I am currently unemployed.

I thought about what I could do — cry, obsessively check my bank account, yell “It’s not fair!” a few times.

Okay, I actually did all of that. And then I thought, what the hell, I might as well blog. And maybe I’ll even be able to write a little while I look for a new day job.

The main problem with my job was it was supposed to be part-time, but it didn’t end up that way. And my boss got really mad every time I said I couldn’t do extra work. I wanted it to be part-time so I could write, which worked really well for a while. I wrote several books, practice books, got lots and lots of rejection letters, and finally got an agent. The agent sent the book out to thirteen publishers, then ended our contract.

Oh, crap, that means I’ve been fired twice this year. Man, I actually wasn’t depressed when I started this blog.

So now I have this book that was edited, edited, rewritten, edited, looks great, and I can’t send it to any more agents, because what agent is going to say, “Oh, I can’t send it to the thirteen biggest kid-book publishers, I’ll have to start with the small presses? No problem!”

Which is why I’m thinking about self-publishing. Which is why I’m blogging. Because I don’t know what I’m doing and hoping for answers!

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in E-publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

