Formatting ebooks — covers

This blog isn’t intended for adults publishing ebooks, since I’m really wanting to talk to readers, especially kids, but I did a lot of research into creating my ebook, and why should someone else have to reinvent the wheel? So I wanted to put some links together for new people coming along. Today I’ll put up the stuff on covers. Tomorrow I’ll put up the code stuff. By the way, you might notice that the cover shown in the Kindle and Nook for-sale sites is different than the one to the right (and I hope that one is the one actually in the book people buy, cause it’s prettier). I made a different version with a HUGE title, etc., because you couldn’t read it in the little thumbnail they show on the reader sale sites.

COVERS:

For me, the best tutorial for learning how to make a cover was Joleene Naylor’s blog. She takes you step-by-step on how to download a photo, download a layout program called Gimp, and make a really quite complicated cover. (David Barron also had a great post on using Gimp.) Now, I used to work on a magazine and used computer layout programs, so it wasn’t too hard for me. If you’re good with computers, she makes it pretty understandable. If you’re not, you might need to buy a cover. (Amanda Hocking had a good blog on that.) David Wisehart also had a good description for using Adobe Illustrator, which I never tried. I saved my cover as both .png and .jpg; the .png went into the book file, and the .jpg was used when I uploaded my cover image on Kindle and Nook.

http://www.myspace.com/joleene_naylor/blog/530553543

http://www.gimp.org/downloads/

http://kindle-author.blogspot.com/2010/07/how-to-create-book-cover-for-your.html

http://davidalbarron.blogspot.com/2010/11/cover-art.html

PHOTOS:

I used Morguefile to find a picture of the moon in the FREE PHOTOS section. I then emailed the photographer and got permission to use it on my ebook (might not be necessary, but I wanted to be dead sure), and I also asked how he would like it attributed and gave him a link. Here’s some stock photo places to get you started:

Morguefile

istockphoto

dreamstime

shutterstock

Fotosearch

http://www.flickr.com

So that’s how I got my cover. Tomorrow, I’ll talk about the hard part: putting in the code and making the ebook.

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in E-publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

