My little tree

This is one of my Christmas gifts this year: My own little tree, to decorate however I dang well please. It’s in the basement, which has a beach theme. I wanted beach ornaments in the worst way, so on Black Friday I bought several at Kohl’s on sale for like $3. It doesn’t have an angel on top. It has a group of singing frogs.

So maybe you picked up on something there: I buy my own Christmas presents. It’s so embarrassing to admit. I’ve shopped for myself for years because I can’t trust my dear, sweet husband to buy me what I want. Which is stupid, because he always does a good job when I let him. He’s chosen some of the best pieces of jewelry I own, stuff I maybe wouldn’t have looked at myself, but I seem to wear all the time. I appear to have lost my capacity for surprises. How did I get to be such a controlling crazy woman? I don’t know. But I always get exactly what I want for Christmas, so what the heck.

What else did I buy myself? A Kindle, a $7 sweater (I love Kohl’s!), and a Dremel tool with some tiny, cute little drill bits. I had to fix a kitchen drawer the other day, and I hate venturing into the man-cave (Rick’s woodshop) for his big drill and 10-pound drill-bit box. I end up with tired wrists, and I never put the tools back in a timely fashion, which irritates Rick. So this Dremel tool is mine. It’s small and easy to use, and if I ever want to grind something, I can.

Why do we women love to make our guy-things cute? Have you seen the flower-patterned hammers and pink-handled screwdrivers at the hardware store? So it’s not just me. I have my own tool box with my own dang tools (none flowered), and I try to fix anything I can. It’s kind of sad that my son learned to change a vacuum belt from his mom, but then again, it’s good for my daughters to see that a woman can take care of her own self. You don’t need a guy to hammer a drawer track straight again. And I sure wouldn’t want my daughters driving around if they didn’t know how to jump a battery and tape up a blown hose. Now if I could convince my son that he could sew a button …

I think of myself as a feminist, which I guess is a term some people don’t like. But to me, “feminism” means being the best “feminine” person you can be. No restrictions. No roadblocks. No assumptions. I can put on my frilliest, prettiest shirt to rewire a lamp.

And I think it’s okay for a man to be a “masculist.” Which wouldn’t mean being a macho jerk. It would mean doing whatever you want to the best of your ability, whether it fits the expected mold of a man or not. Sewing shouldn’t just be something women do. Have you ever handled a pattern before? It’s exactly like a woodworking pattern. Guys should be a natural at sewing. Gender roles can sometimes be very confining, and who wants that, man or woman? Maybe we should make up a new word: Humanist. Oh, yeah. Someone already got that one. Crap.

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in Random stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

