Book surprises

I love editing.

I’m amazed people pay me to do what I do constantly anyway, which is read. At any given time, I might be reading two books for pleasure and two books I’m editing. At the moment, I’m reading two paper library books, a book of short stories on my Kindle, plus a YA paranormal and a book of short stories that I’m editing.

But the surprise for me is that, of the books I’ve edited, I wouldn’t have chosen any of them, but I’ve really enjoyed all of them. We tend to get stuck in book-choosing ruts — I tend to read a lot of YA paranormal. Yet I just read a very racy adult paranormal romance, which I loved; a guy fantasy about zombies and wizards, which I loved; another guy fantasy about heaven and hell, which I loved; and some adult short stories about love, which I loved. Basically, if it is written, apparently I will love reading it.

Which isn’t to say I think it’s all good — at least not until I’ve had my way with it. And that’s the best part of editing. I find the good things and help them make them awesome. I find the bad things and help fix them. I take this rough rock and, with the author, always, of course, we work together to make a diamond. It makes you feel good, like you earned your keep on the planet today.

I’m always so amazed at what people pull out of their imaginations. I feel like a kid at a magic show, clapping and laughing and thrilled at what these people have thought up. It’s magic, good writing, and having any part in making it good makes me feel amazing too.

Everything I edit is a surprise, a chance to try something new. I can’t believe I’m getting paid to do this.

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in Random stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

