The Friday Rant: Comments I don’t want to hear

From my doctor (female), during my yearly physical:

Me (whinily): “Another mammogram? Crap.”

Doctor: “I know, it’s really quite a bit more painful when you don’t have much breast tissue.”

From my doctor’s nurse, calling me with X-ray results:

Nurse: “The x-rays show you do have arthritis in your lower back, but other than that everything was just fine!”

Me: “Okay, but what do I do about it?”

Nurse: “You can take ibuprofen or Tylonel, and alternate heat and cold packs as needed.”

Me (in my mind): “What?!! You can take ibuprofen and Tylonel for pain? Why has no one told me this before?!”

From a clerk in a popular teenage clothing store, as I waited for my daughter to come out of the dressing room:

Clerk: “Is there anything I can show you, ma’am?”

Me (with a smirk): “No, I think this store isn’t quite in my age bracket.”

Clerk: “You know, we sell jeans all the way up to a size 22.”

From a saleswoman in a jewelry store, as my husband was having me pick out a birthday gift one month after giving birth to my second child:

Me: “This ring is a little too small.”

Saleswoman: “Well, your fingers won’t be quite so swollen after you have the baby.”

From the cashier at the gas station, after the card reader has rejected my second debit card:

Cashier (looking down her nose): “This card is bad too.”

Me (somewhat angrily): “No, that can’t be. They’re from different banks.”

Another customer (walking in the door): “Hey, the card reader rejected my debit card.”

Me: “It’s not your card. Their credit machine is broke.”

Cashier: “It’s not our machine. It wasn’t working earlier, but we had it fixed. Your cards are bad.”

From the PA system in a local store:

PA voice: “Would the owner of a green van, license plate number blahblahblah, please report to the parking lot immediately.”

At the vet’s office, after discovering that our new golden retriever has an odor issue:

Me: “I know this is crazy, but my dog seems to … well, fart. Like, loudly.”

Vet (struggling not to laugh): “Yes, some big dogs do … well, fart.”

Me: “How can I stop this?”

Vet (struggling worse): “There’s really nothing that helps. You just have to learn to live with it.”

From a neighbor, chatting in the front yard as my four-year-old son plays nearby:

Neighbor: “You know, Lisa, your son has been watering your garden lately.”

Me: “How nice! What a thoughtful child.”

Neighbor: “He hasn’t been using the hose.”

From a phone call at 3:00 a.m.:

Me (groggily): “Hello?”

Caller: “This is the Police Department …”

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in The Friday Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

