The Friday Rant: Big government, big pain in the butt

So yesterday my daughter was trying to deposit her tax check. No, not this year’s. Last year’s. I kind of lost it, and it just finally materialized. I didn’t actually know what year it was from, and it said “void after one year” on the check, so I wasn’t sure if we could bank it or not.

The teller at the bank said it was past the void date. We trudged home to find out how to get that money back. I looked at old tax returns and realized it was last year’s tax refund, and it should still be good. So I got online to check with the IRS.

Which reminded me of all the other times I’ve dealt with the government and realized they don’t give a damn about me and my problems.

First, I got on their website, where they assured me their “Where’s my refund?” section could find it for me. They lied.

So I looked at “contact us” and got the local IRS phone number. I called all the towns around me, and all had the same recording: No live operators to take my call.

So I called the national IRS number. The website claimed they had live assistance from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday. But when I call the number, I never get a live operator. A recording walks me through the same steps I’d gone through online — it even warned that it wouldn’t have any information than the “Where’s my refund?” section. And it didn’t.

So why did the website claim it had live operators 7 to 7?

BECAUSE THE GOVERNMENT CAN’T DO ANYTHING RIGHT.

This is why I hate to see the government take over health care or school lunches or tiddlywink competitions or anything else. It’s all chaos and inefficiency, they do a terrible job, and then you can’t even yell at anyone because they won’t answer the phone. It seems to me that the bigger the government gets, the  bigger a pain in my butt it becomes.

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in The Friday Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

