The Friday Rant: I’m going to live forever … but I’ll be blind

So I have been really excited about some of the health benefits I have read about coffee drinking. For example, the Mayo clinic says coffee helps prevent Parkinson’s disease, liver cancer, and type 2 diabetes (http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/coffee-and-health/AN01354)

Coffee also makes you live longer, with fewer strokes, less skin cancer, and lower rates of Alzheimer’s and “cognitive decline.” Since I feel pretty cognitively declined already, this is good news. (http://www.medicaldaily.com/articles/11537/20120816/coffee-benefits-diabetes-parkinsons-disease-alzheimers-heart.htm)

So this has all been very exciting to me, because I love coffee. It’s like having a doctor tell you to eat as much ice cream as you possibly can, because it’s just so darned good for you. If coffee increases longevity, I should live forever. I’ve been drinking coffee like a fiend. Sometimes I just sit and tremble. And then today it all came crashing down.

I read a Harvard study that says more than three cups a day can cause glaucoma.

My mom has always drank a ton of coffee, and she got glaucoma.

Crap — I’ll live forever, but I’ll be blind.

Why are all the good things ultimately bad for you? I’m going to throw caution to the wind — I’m going to get some coffee-flavored ice cream.

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in The Friday Rant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Friday Rant: I’m going to live forever … but I’ll be blind

  1. alisaacarter says:

    Supposedly Burger King has a bacon shake. Jamocha sounds so much better!

  2. I’m going for a Jamocha shake at Arbys…:)

Leave a Reply

