Happy Holidays

I love Christmas! I love any holiday. I so want to buy menorah and dreidal ornaments, but I think it might be disrespectful to put them on a Christmas tree, but they seem like such a beautiful way to commemorate the miracle of the flame.

Stock Photo: Love Bulb. Image: 244790And Ramadan seems beautiful too: “Allah desires for you ease; He desires not hardship for you; and that you should complete the period, and that you should magnify Allah for having guided you, and that perhaps you may be thankful.”[Quran 2:185 A whole month of thanksgiving!

And Kwanza–unity, self-determination, collective work and responsibility, cooperative economics, purpose, creativity, and faith. Beautiful ideas. What kind of world would it be if we all kept those ideals in our minds, for everyone?

But I adore Christmas. I love the way we all act a little nicer (except on Black Friday), smiling at strangers and holding shop doors for one another and driving thoughtfully. I love listening to Christmas carols sung by people like Martina McBride, where you sing along with memories but let her hit the high note alone. I love the decorations. I love sitting in the dark with just the tree lights on. I love driving around and looking at the house lights, the kids bundled up in jammies in the back, drinking hot chocolate and eating popcorn. I love the food, the pies and desserts, the cookies and nuts. I love the excitement of the little kids when they see the pile of presents on Christmas morning (and the cats as we pull their gifts out of their stockings). I love visiting family. I love shopping for the perfect present for each person, and I love that we give each other presents to bring joy to the real birthday boy. I love that it’s about the birth of a new religion, literally.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all celebrate each others’ holidays and support each other?

Image courtesy:

© Photographer Johanna Goodyear | Agency: Dreamstime.com

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in Random stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Holidays

  1. V.E.G> says:

    Remember Shannon Hilliard Johnson. Shannon, a man, gave his life saving a woman of Mexican origin. His last words, “I got you.” Shannon’s father, Bob, gave his life saving others as well. Bob and Shannon paid the ultimate price for that.

  2. V.E.G. says:

    Remember Jesse McCord Lewis. He paid the ultimate price for saving many children and he was a boy hero. Lewis was almost 6.5 years old. Lewis was born in an non-marital liaison to Neil Frances Heslin and Scarlett L. Lewis. He was born on the birthday of Blinky the Clown!

Leave a Reply

