The Friday Rant: Separate Bathrooms

There are certain things women are guilty of in the bathroom. For example, when the doorknob gets sticky, I know that’s hairspray, so I clean it off. When there’s toothpaste on the mirror, it’s probably me brushing my teeth, looking in the mirror, and then lunging forward to see if that’s a pimple developing on my nose. So I clean it off. If the shower drain gets slow, I know it’s probably my long hair, so I clean it out.

But let’s face it, the vast majority of bathroom shenanigans are probably caused by the men in the family. Women don’t get beard clippings in the sink. Women don’t leave clumps of shaving cream on the countertop. Women don’t basically hose the bathroom down while peeing. Women don’t leave all of their toiletries out on the counter because they’re terrified that if they have to open a drawer, they’ll never see what they need. And I’d be willing to bet the majority of toilet clogs are male-related.

And men never clean anything off. Ever. Even if they damn well know they just missed the toilet rim.

I never understood the separate bedroom thing, but separate bathrooms? Now that’s a great idea!

About alisaacarter

I am a writer of young adult novels, wife, mom of three, lover of animals, former magazine editor, reader of anything paranormal, and coffee fanatic.
This entry was posted in The Friday Rant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

